Thinking 

Within four and half months my life has changed dramatically. I love living in Sweden. 2months in when people asked me are you enjoying yourself? I would answer I love it, lying with every word. Because I didn’t love it. I was unhappy and alone on the other side of the world with out my family or my friends I am still alone on the other side of the world without my family or friends but for once I am happy. Why am I happy? I am home. I feel at home. I am in love with this god Dahm beautiful country that is Sverige, I love people that I don’t know what my life would be without them. And the thing is some of these people are leaving me in a month and I may never see them again and that makes me sad. But I’m happy I met them. I feel more content with life. I am currently sitting on a rock in the Swedish town of Båstad looking out to the ocean thinking about life. In February, March and April I regretted coming. I regretted spending the money to come here. I regretted leaving everyone to be alone. But now I don’t. Now I am so happy I am here. This feeling is the reason I begged and pleaded to go on exchange. If I wasn’t here I’d be at home, studying for exams and internals and living the same life I lived for 17years. Being here I’ve learnt this, school is a bloody prison and my school back home need to liten up. Not be so strict and controlling. In New Zealand from the age of 16 it is now your decision to attend high school. You have the choice however the school sees it differently, we should have the ability to go home at lunch times, we should have the ability to use our phones during morning tea and lunch times, I believe we should be allowed to wear our hair down or wear jewellery with our school Uniform or have our nails painted or even dye our hair exciting colours because that give us personality. It makes us individuals rather than people who are robot sheep. We should be payed to go to school like Sweden and if we miss a certain classes we stop getting paid like Sweden. NCEA needs to  change its ways. We need school to seem like it is about the students and our education rather than about the teachers or the principle and his or her reputation. The relationship between the student and the teacher needs to be more of an equal playing field. Rather than the teacher being so much higher up in importance I think the student needs to feel as though they are not being looked down upon by  the teacher then the students may respect the teacher. Basically education needs to be treated as it is all about the student rather than what the results are and how the school looks to the outside world. School isn’t about the image that is being portrayed rather it is about the student.

I have about 7months to go and I don’t want to leave. Jag älskar dig Sverige. Du har stulna min hjärta. 🇸🇪🇸🇪🇸🇪

This entry was posted in My Feelings, Sweden. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Thinking 

  1. Sweden says:

    Welcome home. 🙂

  2. Lauren says:

    How old are you? I want to go to Sweden with this company called ASSE and they don’t allow gap years, So I will have to go to Sweden next year (2016, I would be a US high school senior) and I will be 17 when school starts and 18 in January. I am worried that I will be placed in 2nd year and It makes me sad because things like studenten and the ball look like so much fun and it is a dream of mine.

    • Sarah says:

      Sorry for such a late reply, if this is still relevant I hope it is. Basically if you are put in to 2nd year, you can request to be moved to 3rd and due to your age I would say it is highly unlikely they will place you in 2nd but if it does happen you can always ask the school to be placed into 3rd. I hope this helps 🙂

Leave a comment